Infertility Bites

Infertile, Trying to Conceive, and Forty-One Years Old – Ain't THAT a Bummer!?!

Very Happy to Report April 3, 2008

My 1st hCG quantity was 81, which is right where it needed to be.  The second one, however, simply blew me away.  All this morning on the way to the lab to get the bloodwork, I kept talking to my baby(!!?!), telling it that I wanted a high number, at least double of the original amount. 

Apparently, the baby’s an overachiever like its mama.  When the nurse called with the results, they were a very impressive 204.  I had to wipe the tears from my eyes, I was so happy to hear that!  Passed with flying colors!  I can hardly wait until school’s out, so I can tell my baby how proud I am of it breezing by the first of many tests it has to ace throughout its life.

 F and I still haven’t really fully grasped the fact that we’re going to be parents.  My brain keeps repeating over and over that I’m pregnant, and I’m hoping that the message starts to trickle into my psyche soon.  I think the process has begun. 

It’s funny, but I already think of the baby as a she.  I’ll tell you why, and you may take it as you will.  My sister and I seem to have the occasional psychic vibe about things.  Months ago, she not only dreamed about me (finally) getting pregnant, but she also dreamed that I had a little girl.  She’s correctly predicted the sex of four babies in our family, again months before they were born. 

I had a very, very vivid dream the morning of April Fool’s Day.  I dreamed that I was pregnant.  That’s why I was the tiniest bit surprised when I got the BFN that morning.  The dream was the kind of dream I get when it’s a kind of psychic/predictive dream, which meant that I remembered a heck of a lot more of it than I usually do.  Most dreams I have I promptly forget, but those kinds of dreams I tend to recall later, when the events occur.  Strange I know, but it’s true.             

 

8 Responses to “Very Happy to Report”

  1. Erin Says:

    YAY!! Congrats!!!! 🙂 Those are some great numbers!

  2. s.e. Says:

    I’ve recently happened across your post and am smiling (along with almost tearing up) reading your posts the last few days. How absolutely exciting! can you have psychic dreams about people you don’t even know? Can you have a good one about me? Congrats to you and hooray for good numbers!

    The psychic dreams I’ve had were dreams about things in which I’m involved, in one way or the other. Locations I eventually go to, conversations I eventually have, sites I eventually see, etc. I wish I could pick and choose things to dream about, but so far, that’s been beyond my capabilities. Still, if pregnancy can happen for me, I feel there’s hope for almost anyone.

  3. Patti Says:

    Wow! Fabulous number! Sure there’s only one in there? ha ha!

    Seriously, I am so happy to hear that you’re pregnant. I only just started reading your blog but I am pleased anyway!

  4. mrs spock Says:

    Congrats! I have psychic dreams as well. I always have a dream before I get a patient who dies. I always had dreams with a failed cycle, and when I became pregnant I had a dream that told me so- of course, by that time, I refused to believe it…

  5. Amanda Says:

    Congrats on such a wonderful beta!!!!

    I read your comment on Geohde’s post. If you send me an email, I’ll write up a quick tutorial on how to post a ticker on your site. It tortured me to figure it out, but it’s easier than it seemed. 🙂

    And I’m all for a psychic dream. My mom’s best friend has them, and they’re almost always right.

  6. geohde Says:

    I go away for a few days and look what you go and do- get all clever and knocked up in my absence! Congratulations 🙂

    PS. To answer your q on my blog, to get bloody wordpress to display a linkedpic/ ticker you need to insert a text widget into your sidebar and then type as follows:

    [a href=”http://targetoflinkaddress”][img src=”thelinkforyourpictureorticker”/][/a]

    except replace all the [ ] with

    If you want to link to a pic you’ve got stored on your site, you need to go into ‘edit picture’ and get the code for it from there.

    Forget any links/tickers with code, wordpress hates it. There’s work arounds, but they’re a lot of pissing about!

    Clear as mud? 🙂

    J

  7. dagny Says:

    OH CONGRATS!!! I love happy stories!!!

  8. dana Says:

    I came across your blog thru another…(isn’t that how it always happens?)

    Anyway – I’ve been reading your past posts and just wanted to say CONGRATULATIONS!!


Leave a Reply

